Can you delete Facebook and still use messenger?

You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you. Download the Messenger mobile app if you don’t already have it.

How do you delete Facebook but still use Messenger?

How do you delete Facebook but keep Messenger?

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Now, go to ‘Settings & Privacy’ and click ‘Settings’
  3. Select ‘Your Facebook Information’ and further click on the option ‘Deactivation and Deletion’
  4. Select ‘Deactivate Account’ and then click on ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’

Can I delete my Facebook account without deleting Messenger?

There’s no way to completely delete a Facebook account but keep Messenger. Instead, you can deactivate your account, then keep using Messenger to stay in contact with friends. The only real catch is that you’ll probably have to add Messenger friends from your phone’s contact list.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why are my Instagram posts missing?

Can you keep Messenger without Facebook?

Fortunately, you can use Messenger without Facebook − but only if you have had a Facebook account in the past. … Previously, it was possible to sign up for Facebook Messenger using your phone number and nothing else. But as of December 26 2019, you can’t sign up for Messenger if you’ve never had a Facebook account.

Can you have Messenger without Facebook 2021?

No. You’ll need to create a Facebook account to use Messenger. If you had a Facebook account but deactivated it, learn how to keep using Messenger.

What do friends see when you delete Facebook account?

When your Facebook account is deactivated:

  1. No one else can see your profile.
  2. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
  3. Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. …
  4. Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.

Is deactivating the same as deleting Facebook?

The biggest difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account is that deactivating your Facebook account gives you the flexibility to return whenever you wish, while deleting your account is a permanent action.

What do my friends see when I deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won’t know that you’ve deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.

Is there a difference between Messenger and Facebook Messenger?

Facebook allows its users to privately message each other through private messaging. This applies to both individual users and business to customer conversations. However, messaging on desktop takes place on Facebook chat while on mobile it takes place on a standalone Facebook application called Messenger.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Did the Twins win the lawsuit for Facebook?

When I delete my Facebook account will my messages be deleted?

When you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook. … Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.

How do you make Messenger only?

On the Messenger app, enter your deactivated Facebook account’s phone number/email and password, then tap Log In. Or tap Create New Account > Next > Sign Up to create a new Facebook account and Messenger account with it.

How do I delete Messenger account?

How to deactivate Messenger

  1. Open Messenger;
  2. Click on your profile in the top left corner;
  3. Tap Account Settings;
  4. Choose Account Ownership and Control;
  5. Tap Deactivation and deletion;
  6. Choose Deactivate account, tap Continue to account deactivation and follow the instructions on your screen. …
  7. Open Messenger;

What does it mean using Messenger without Facebook?

When it says; “using Messenger without Facebook” it means that you’re not signed in to Facebook on your device before using the messenger app. To stop seeing this, Download Facebook for Android or iPhone .

How can you tell if someone is active on Facebook Messenger?

It’s to the right of the large blue circle. Tap Active. It’s near the top of the screen. This displays a list of everyone who’s active on Messenger.