Question: How do I deactivate a Facebook account?

What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account?

When you deactivate your account, Facebook saves all of your settings, photos, and information in case you decide to reactivate your account. Your information isn’t gone—it’s just hidden. … If you’d like to save photos and posts from your account, click Download Info. Then click Delete Account.

How do I deactivate my Facebook account on mobile?

Updated mobile browser experience

  1. Tap in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Scroll down and tap Settings.
  3. Scroll down to the Your Facebook Information section and tap Account Ownership and Control.
  4. Tap Open.
  5. Tap Deactivation and deletion, and select Delete account.
  6. Tap Continue to account deletion and select Delete account.

How do I deactivate my Facebook account without deleting it?

If you don’t want to delete your Facebook account outright (too many memories, I know), then you can simply deactivate it temporarily. It’s called the “super-logoff” and it was a trick used by early privacy-conscious users each time they left the site.

How long can I leave my Facebook account deactivated?

Facebook Waits 14 Days Before Deleting Account

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you make Instagram memes?

The social network said there is no limit on how long a user can keep her account deactivated. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether.

What will my friends see if I deactivate Facebook?

When you deactivate your Facebook account, Facebook does not send out any notification whatsoever. Your friends won’t know that you’ve deactivated your account unless they try to search for your now-deactivated profile or they ask you in the real world.

How do I delete my Facebook account 2021?

How to delete your Facebook account.

  1. Step 1: Click your profile picture in the top right corner. …
  2. Step 2: Click “Settings & Privacy”
  3. Step 3: Now click “Settings”
  4. Step 4: On the left-hand column, click “Your Facebook Information” and click “Deactivation and Deletion”
  5. Step 5: Choose “Delete” or “Deactivate”
  6. Step 6: Confirm.

Can I put my Facebook account on hold?

If you need to take a Facebook timeout for sanity or to work on a project, you can deactivate your account for an indefinite period right in your Facebook preferences. When you are logged into the site, click the menu triangle at the top of the page and choose Settings.

Can I reactivate my Facebook account after 2 years?

Facebook automatically saves all data for deactivated accounts so that you can easily reactivate the account if you change your mind and want to use the social network again. Facebook doesn’t remove old account information after any set time, so you can reactivate Facebook a year after closing the account.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Does Facebook automatically add subtitles?

What’s the difference between logging out and deactivating Facebook account?

Logging out is just that – logging out of your account, and you can log back in. Deactivating your account, means that you may or may no longer want your account, yet don’t fully want to delete your account and so you may come back at a later date.

Can someone message me on Facebook when I deactivate?

You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won’t reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you.