When joining a group, whether private or public, your Facebook friends might see that you’ve joined it. Some groups are secret and can’t be searched for, in which case a qualifying group member has to invite you. Leaving a group will not notify the other members.
Will my friends be notified if I join a private group?
No, they will not receive a notification. Although there is no list of groups on someones profile, historically this information has not been private as group recommendations would be made in side panels of your Facebook feed showing which groups your friend were in.
Can Facebook friends see private groups?
There are 2 privacy settings for Facebook groups: Public: anyone on or off Facebook can see who’s in the group and what they post. Private: only members can see who’s in the group and what they post.
How do private Facebook groups work?
Secret groups offer the same level of privacy as closed groups under a cloak of invisibility. No one can search for secret groups or request to join them. The only way to get in is to know someone who can invite you. Everything shared in a secret group is visible only to its members.
What happens when you join a group on Facebook?
When you join a group, members of the group will see that you’re a member. Non-members may also see that you’re a member, depending on the group’s privacy level. For Pages joining groups, keep in mind: Several people may be managing that Page.
What is the difference between a closed group and a private group on Facebook?
Closed groups, which only let current members view group content and see who else is in the group, will now be labeled as private but visible groups. Secret groups, which are hidden from search, but still require an invitation to join, will be changed to a private and hidden group.