How to deactivate Facebook Messenger on your phone and stop receiving chat messages. The only way to deactivate Messenger is to first deactivate your Facebook account. … Once you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging back into Messenger or Facebook.
What happens when I deactivate Messenger?
What Happens When You Deactivate Messenger? Now that you know how to deactivate Facebook Messenger, no one will be able to see your profile in the app or send you messages in existing conversations. … If you only want to keep the Messenger service, you will need to deactivate your Facebook account for a second time.
What does a deactivated Messenger account look like?
You will be invisible in the Messenger app. No one will be seeing your profile in the app. No one will be able to communicate with you. When you reactive Messenger, it will also reactivate your Facebook account automatically.
How can you tell if someone deactivated Messenger?
Check the person’s profile photo and name.
But if their profile photo is now a gray outline of a person instead of their old photo, they’ve likely deactivated their account, not blocked you. Sometimes, but not always, a deactivated account’s name will be replaced with “Facebook User” instead of the name you’re used to.
Why can I not deactivate Messenger?
To deactivate Messenger, you must first deactivate your Facebook profile. There’s no way to deactivate Messenger without deactivating your Facebook profile first. If you don’t want to receive messages without deactivating Facebook, you can just remove the Messenger app.
Can you have Facebook without Messenger?
No. You’ll need to create a Facebook account to use Messenger.
How many times can you deactivate Messenger?
How Many Times Can I Deactivate Messenger And Facebook? You can do it as many times as you want. Thus, if you want frequent sabbaticals from the social media site, it’s possible. However, if you’ve deactivated multiple times, you might have to wait 24 hours after logging in for full activation.
Do messages disappear when you deactivate Messenger?
Can People See My Messages if I Deactivate Facebook? Yes, you can still use Messenger, so it follows that your messages will appear after deactivating your account. In fact, when you press “Send,” as long as you have internet access, the message will go straight to the recipient’s inbox.
Why does someone keep deactivating and reactivating their Facebook?
It could be because people are tired of some garbage on facebook. People might just want to take a break, and they feel they lack self-control. Perhaps the people have other personal issues that they are dealing with. Currently, messenger can still be used if the account is deactivated.