When you delete a message from Facebook, it’s gone forever. And if you submit the account delete form without deleting your messages, then the messages will remain until the deletion is complete which is 14 days.
Are Facebook messages stored forever?
Facebook stores your chat messages by default, but you don’t have to keep them. You can delete messages permanently from the conversation history stored in Facebook Messages. … Click to enable the check box beside each message you want to remove and click the “Delete” button.
How far back does Facebook Messenger keep messages?
Unless you actively delete the history between you and another user, Messenger retains the entirety of your back-and-forth conversations, stretching back years. It could be jarring to some to be hit with an old thread with an ex or a family member or friend who has passed.
Will Facebook delete old messages?
No, it doesn’t. Unless you take action to delete them yourself (either intentionally or unintentionally) your conversations will remain in your account as long as your account exists. Even if you deactivate your account your messages will still be there when you reactivate it.
Are Messenger messages deleted permanently?
Unfortunately, when you delete a message in the Facebook Messenger app, it’s permanently deleted, according to Facebook Messenger’s official policy. … To see if your message is archived, simply go into the Messenger app and search a few keywords in the search bar.
How do you permanently delete FB messages?
Launch Facebook’s Messenger app. Tap and hold any of the desired conversations to find the option to delete it. If you want to delete a particular message, head into the conversation and then tap and hold the exact message which you want to delete as shown in the image below.
How do you find messages from years ago on Facebook?
Open Messenger and tap your profile picture. Scroll down and tap Account Settings. Scroll down and select Download Your Information. Select the Messages check box to download your Messenger history.
Can new Messenger members see old messages?
After joining the group, new members can’t view original messages in threads. They can only view members’ replies sent after they joined the group.
How do I permanently delete Messenger messages on both sides?
To permanently delete Messenger messages, you need to use the “Unsend” option. The “Unsend” option will delete your message from both sides. In other words, unsending a message on Messenger will permanently delete your message from your side and the receiver’s side. There isn’t another way for it.